0 C
Lagos, NG
2nd October 2022

2020 Best FIFA Football Awards To Take Place On 17th December 

2020 Best FIFA Football Awards To Place On 17th December 
2020 Best FIFA Football Awards To Place On 17th December 

The 2020 Best FIFA football awards are to hold on the 17th December 2020. This was announced on the official Twitter handle of FIFA on Friday 20th November 2020.

According to the statement by FIFA on the 2020 Best FIFA football awards, the world football governing body speaking on how the coronavirus has affected the game, said:

“This year, it has been clearer than ever that nothing is more important than health. The protagonists of the game have taken on greater responsibility, not just as players, but also as role models giving hope to communities everywhere and sharing messages of unity in the face of the ongoing public health crisis.

Following the safe resumption of competitions, thanks to a combination of hard work and solidarity across our sport, football has provided a rare source of comfort and joy to many. Thus, it is important that FIFA honour such achievements in this extraordinary year,” the statemen said.

FIFA continued in their statement to add that:

“In line with public health precautions and FIFA’s guiding principle that health comes first, it has been decided that the awards ceremony will be held as a virtual event only,” the body said.

FIFA is going ahead with its awards, a few weeks after French magazine cancelled the 2020 Ballon d’or award due to coronavirus. The world football governing body not folling in the footsteps of Ballon d’or, said:

“Despite the special circumstances this year, FIFA will hand out prizes in the following categories in the 2020 edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards:

  • The Best FIFA Women’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Player
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Coach
  • The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper
  • The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper
  • FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World11
  • FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World11
  • FIFA Fair Play Award
  • FIFA Puskás Award
  • FIFA Fan Award

“Another thing that has not changed is how The Best incorporates the views of four pillars of the footballing world. The recipients of the trophies for the top players and coaches in both women’s and men’s football will be determined through a combined voting process involving the captains and head coaches of all national teams around the globe, an online ballot of fans and submissions from a select group of more than 200 media representatives.

Moreover, while in 2019, The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper and The Best Men’s Goalkeeper were chosen by a dedicated panel, the outstanding figures between the sticks will also be crowned by players, coaches, journalists and fans this year.

Receiving the trophy means being recognised by those who are the heart and soul of the football community, which is what makes The Best FIFA Football Awards so special.

Voting will start on 25 November and end on 9 December. For more information on the voting process for each of The Best FIFA Football Awards, see their respective Rules of Allocation,” the statement said.

Related posts

Hayley Orrantia And Greg Furman Are Engaged


Isaiah Rashad Addresses Alleged Leaked Sex Tape


Nelson Piquet: Footage Shows Ex-Champ Used Racial Slur


Ole Gunnar Solskjaer Calls Man City Game As Worst Of The Season


PHOTO: Alex Iwobi signs long-term contract with Arsenal


Davide Zappacosta moves to Italian side, AS Roma


PHOTO: Jose Mourinho Booed Off As Sevilla Dumps Manchester United Out Of UCL


Dr Okonjo Iweala receives an Honorary PhD from Tel Aviv University


Zelensky Of Ukraine Calls For Embargo On Russian Oil


Giannis Antetokounmbo’s Wife Marks Her 29th Birthday


Leave a Comment