0 C
Lagos, NG
19th May 2019
  • Home
  • Breaking: Court nullifies the appointment of new Emirs in Kano

Breaking: Court nullifies the appointment of new Emirs in Kano

Breaking: Court nullifies the appointment of new Emirs in Kano
Breaking: Court nullifies the appointment of new Emirs in Kano

A Kano State High Court sitting in Ungogo Local Government Area has declared the appointment and the installation of four new emirs by the Kano State government as null and void.

Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje of Kano State had created four new Emirate Councils with first Class Emirs in Karaye, Gaya, Rano and Bichi a development that brought about heated controversy.

However, Four Kingmakers that have the traditional legal powers to appoint new Emirs, did not receive the action of the Governor wholeheartedly, prompting them to take legal action and calling for the nullification of the appointment.

Justice Nasiru Saminu, the Presiding Judge ordered a return to status quo pending the hearing of the suit against the appointment of the new Emirs.

The State High Court had on May 10th issued an exparte order restraining the Balkanisation of Kano Emirate and installation of new Emirs.

Contrary that the Kano State governor, Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje issued the appointment letters, and presented Staff of Office to the new Emirs against the subsisting Court Order.

Similarly, a House of Assembly member, representing Gwarzo constituency Hon Rabiu Mmuhammad Gwarzo had filed a suit challenging the creation of the new Emirates.

The Plaintiff was represented by his Counsel, AB Mahmud SAN, while the defendants were represented by Kano state Attorney General, Barrister. Ibrahim Muktar.

The defendants in the suit include the Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, the Speaker, Kano State House of Assembly, Clerk of the Assembly, the Commissioner for Justice and Government Printer.

It would be recalled that on Tuesday the Kano kingmakers filled another suit against state government challenging the splitting of the Election into smaller Units.

The four kingmakers are Madakin Kano, District head of Dawakin Tofa, Yusuf Nabahani; Makaman Kano, District Head of Wudil, Abdullahi Sarki-Ibrahim; Sarkin Dawaki Mai Tuta, District Head of Gabasawa, Bello Abubakar and Sarkin Ban Kano, District Head of Dambatta, and Alhaji Mukhtar Adnan Dambatta instituted the action on Tuesday.

Related posts

AKK: NNPC and Chinese company CNPC eye October kick-off date


Gov Udom storm State Assembly with supporters, disrupts sitting


PHOTO: Rotimi Amaechi Seeks Opinion Poll On His Ministry


EFCC fire outbreak: Commission relocates data Centre, Task force


Illegal bunkering: Nigerian Navy hands over Vessel and crew to EFCC


Court sentences 3 policemen, 4 others to death for kidnapping in Uyo


PHOTO: Trader Moni still on course-VP Osinbajo


I give up on Democracy- Davido reacts to Uncle’s arrest by the Police


Mrs Akufo Addo commissioned ‘Mothers’ Hostel


Breaking: Buhari gets WAEC attestation certificate of school result


Leave a Comment