Atletico Madrid Forward Joao Felix Wins Golden Boy Award

Atletico Madrid Forward Joao Felix Wins Golden Boy Award
Atletico Madrid Forward Joao Felix Wins Golden Boy Award

20-year-old Portuguese and Atletico Madrid forward Joao Felix has been awarded the Golden Boy award for the best under-21 player in Europe, 2019.

The award was given to the former Benfica star, on Wednesday, November 2019. Although he is yet to fully establish himself as the main man for Atletico after his £113million, he has shown so far that he will be one of the best in the world in future. 

Joao Felix who has scored two goals in 10 La Liga appearances for Atletico this season, beats all other promising stars to win the award.

Borussia Dortmund and England winger Jadon Sancho, 19, finished second with Bayer Leverkusen and Germany midfielder Kai Havertz, 20, third.

“I am very proud,” said Felix. “It is the second time that a player from Atletico Madrid has won this award and I am happy.”

The Golden Boy award was created by Italian newspaper Tuttosport in 2003 to recognise the best young player in Europe. Nominees must be under the age of 21 and play in a European nation’s top tier.

Past Winners:

2003: Rafael van der Vaart

2004: Wayne Rooney

2005: Lionel Messi

2006: Cesc Fabregas

2007: Sergio Aguero

2008: Anderson

2009: Alexandre Pato

2010: Mario Balotelli

2011: Mario Gotze

2012: Isco

2013: Paul Pogba

2014: Raheem Sterling

2015: Anthony Martial

2016: Renato Sanches

2017: Kylian Mbappe

2018: Mattijs de Ligt

Related posts

PHOTO: Arsenal’s Jack Wilshere Announce His Departure From Club


Nick Bollettieri: Legendary Tennis Coach Dies At 91


PHOTO: Khabib Nurmagomedov threatens to quit UFC


John Lewis’s Death: Obama Mourns Iconic Civil Right Activist


Trump praises President Xi and himself for new massive trade deals


Rapper Cardi B Wants A ‘Tummy Tuck’ To Regain Shape


Kanye West Kicks Off Campaign Rally, Says He Tried Aborting North


Alex Jones Ordered To Pay $4m To 2 Sandy Hook Parents


Patrick Wachsberger Joins French Oscar Committee


Super Falcons wins CAF female National team of the year 2018


Leave a Comment