0 C
Lagos, NG
17th November 2019
  • Home
  • Gareth Southgate Names 27-Man Squad For Euro 2020 Qualifiers

Gareth Southgate Names 27-Man Squad For Euro 2020 Qualifiers

Gareth Southgate Names 27-man For Euro 2020 Qualifiers
Gareth Southgate Names 27-man For Euro 2020 Qualifiers

England senior National team coach, Gareth Southgate has released a 27-man list for the next two Euro 2020 qualifiers, as the likes of Leicester City’s James Maddison, Chelsea’s Callum Hudson-Odoi and Liverpool’s Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain all making the list released on Thursday. 

The list released by manager Gareth Southgate, is the games against Montenegro on 14 November and Kosovo on 17 November.

Gareth Southgate while speaking about the 27-man list, said the “squad is a little larger than normal” because there were a “couple of injury doubts”.

Maddison has been picked in the past three squads but is yet to make his debut for England.

“He’s only been in two squads,” said Southgate. “He had to go home ill last time. We sent him home – he was ill.

“Any suggestion he chose to go home because he wanted to go out is unfair. It’s not a great decision he took [to visit a casino].

“As an England player you have a different profile. Everyone has a camera-phone and wants to make money selling pictures.

We are supporting him because we have picked him and he has to fight for his place like everybody else.”

Southgate added that Aston Villa midfielder Jack Grealish was “very close” to making his squad.

“Grealish is a very good player – I’ve watched him closely this season,” he said.

“The reality is he’s up against Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford and Callum Hudson-Odoi.

“If we have any issues with the squad I wouldn’t hesitate to call him up. He was very close and just has to keep playing the way he is,” he said.

See the full squad:


Tom Heaton (Aston Villa), 

Jordan Pickford (Everton),

 Nick Pope (Burnley)


Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), 

Ben Chilwell (Leicester), 

Joe Gomez (Liverpool), 

Harry Maguire (Manchester United), 

Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), 

Danny Rose (Tottenham), 

John Stones (Manchester City), 

Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea), 

Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid)


Ross Barkley (Chelsea), 

Fabian Delph (Everton), 

Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), 

James Maddison (Leicester City), 

Mason Mount (Chelsea), 

Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Liverpool), 

Declan Rice (West Ham),

 Harry Winks (Tottenham)


Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), 

Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea), 

Harry Kane (Tottenham), 

Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), 

Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund),

Raheem Sterling (Manchester City),

Callum Wilson (Bournemouth)

Related posts

Empire cast are urging Fox network to recall Jussie Smollett


PHOTO: Cristiano Ronaldo Unveiled As Juventus Player


Legendary Hollywood actor Rip Torn dies at 88


Boris Johnson Praises coalition partners on the killing of Isis leader


PHOTO: Senator Saraki Presents A Painted Ostrich Egg To Nana Akufo-Addo For Ghana’s 61st Independence


The late Chris Attoh’s wife Bettie was married to two men- Police


Kenya celebrates her inaugural direct flight from New York to Nairobi


Bill Gates pays emotional and eye opening tribute to Paul Allen


David De Gea signs a new contract at Manchester United until 2023


FGM: Girl bleeds to death after genital mutilation


Leave a Comment