0 C
Lagos, NG
20th February 2020
  • Home
  • 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Awarded To 3 Scientists

2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Awarded To 3 Scientists

2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Awarded To 3 Scientists
2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine Awarded To 3 Scientists

The 2019 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine was on Monday October 7th 2019 awarded to three scientists of William G. Kaelin, Jr, Peter J. Ratcliffe and Gregg L. Semenza.

The trio received the award jointly for their discoveries of “how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability,” the Nobel Committee announced a few hours ago. It is the 110th Noble prize in the category that has been awarded since 1901, Associated Press reported.

The Karolinska Institutet said in a statement the trio should share equally the 9 million kronor ($918,000) cash award.
The discoveries made by the three men “have fundamental importance for physiology and have paved the way for promising new strategies to fight anemia, cancer and many other diseases.”

The 2019 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was given jointly to William G. Kaelin Jr, who was born in 1957 in New York City and is a professor of medicine at Harvard University; Peter Ratcliffe, 65, of the University of Oxford; and 63-year-old Gregg L. Semenza at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Thomas Perlmann, the secretary of the Nobel Committee at the Sweden’s Karolinska Instititute, said he was able to call the three laureates Monday, adding the last one he called was Kaelin. He reached him via his sister who gave him two phone numbers — the first one was a wrong number but he reached Kaelin on the second.
“He was really happy,” Perlmann told a news conference.

The winners of this year’s Nobel Prizes are to be announced over the next week, to include two literature laureates and the coveted Nobel Peace Prize.

Events begin Monday with the award for physiology or medicine. The physics prize is handed out Tuesday and the following day is the chemistry prize.

This year’s double-header Literature Prizes will be awarded Thursday and the Peace Prize will be announced on Friday.

The economics prize officially known as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel will be awarded on Oct. 14.

The 2018 literature prize was suspended after a scandal rocked the Swedish Academy. The body plans to award it this year, along with announcing the 2019 laureate, Associated Press had reported on Monday.

Related posts

Ramon Azeez, Olayinka make Super Eagles 23-man list for Brazil


Anthony Anderson to host this year’s NAACP Image Awards


PHOTO: Chelsea Manager Sarri to name new team Captain soon


Mike Pompeo describes Mugabe’s 40-years rule as catastrophic


Aubameyang shows off his Ferrari after a successful outing last night


Kylie Jenner has allegedly accused Travis Scott of cheating


PHOTO: Mayweather’s Roasting Of 50cent Is Just Everything


23 killed In A Ceramics Factory Fire In Sudan


Ebola: Google honours Nigerian Physician late Dr Adadevoh


French Police Arrests Pop Star, Pete Doherty With Cocaine


Leave a Comment